There was some suspicion from the Sons and Daughters of West Glamorgan back in 2003 when it was announced that Neath and Swansea RFC would merge to become the Ospreys; after all, it was two men who would eventually become All Blacks coaches that had advocated the wide ranging changes to the professional structure of Welsh Rugby.

Sir Graham Henry and Steve Hansen, both former Wales head coaches, were vocal supporters of the change that saw the Neath-Swansea Ospreys one of five original sides created on July 24, 2003 – with the regional names dropped from the newly created Welsh ‘franchise’ (Wales' four club system is similar to New Zealand’s Super Rugby teams) in 2005, a year after the Celtic Warriors geographic boundaries were absorbed by the Ospreys.

The same year Ospreys captured their first crown with a 29-12 win over Edinburgh and in 2006 the side became the first region to play an international team, where they defeated the Wallabies 24-16 at Liberty Stadium – joining the legendary Swansea men of 1992 who had also conquered Australia.

Just one season on “Y Gweilch” (the Welsh name for the club) captured another Celtic League title. Not only had they become the first province to win two such trophies, but barely six months later Ospreys dominated Warren Gatland’s Six Nations squad, supplying a remarkable 13 players to the starting XV when playing England in February 2008.

Since then Ospreys have won two more Pro12 titles (2009/10, 2011/12), both times at the expense of Leinster, while the club has a further two semi-final appearances to their names (2010/11, 2014/15), where they were beaten on both occasions by Munster.

The club has boasted perhaps the most exciting roster in Welsh Rugby over the last decade, not only generating 26 club centurions in just 13 years, but boasting the likes of Jerry Collins and Justin Marshall over the years, while in 2009 the club saw a record nine players called up to the British and Irish Lions touring squad to South Africa.

Ecommerce Platform by EstarOnline